top of page
Writer's pictureGSeverino

Journal Entry #1

Updated: Sep 27, 2023

Getting back to writing, chaotic happenings, and more...


If your life happens to be anything like mine, and I'm not sure that you'd want that, then your week is full of sporadic drama and chaotic happenings (wish me luck).

The first things that you need to know about my chaoticness (is that even a word?) are that I'm currently finishing my college degree and my thesis paper while also working (kill me, kill me now). The other thing is that I'll be moving out of the country that has been my home my entire life (Dominican Republic) and moving to California in January.


It's a big move for a better life for my family and me, plus a step in the direction of what I want for my life. And that is being a full-on writer. I'm telling you this because these will be a constant on my blog entries (mostly the journals), which stresses me out but excites me the most.


But, anyway, on to the ranting now!


Getting back to writing


I had massive writer's block during the summer and couldn't write a single word for my now-completed book. I had my mind set on participating in the Wattys this year, which also added stress (I didn't make the shortlist, but that's not the point). Around August, I got a burst of inspiration, and I wrote every day, a couple of times a day, a finished just in time for the deadline.


The thing is, and if you're a writer, you'll understand, I felt empty when I finished. It's as if after the block and finally getting back to writing, I had nothing left now. My solution? Doing a second round of editing and writing bonus scenes/chapters to keep my brain going. I guess you could say it worked, but now that the editing is done, all that's left are the bonus scenes, and that's bound to run out too.


I haven't started writing the sequel to "Book of You & I" either, just a quick FYI. The ideas are flying in, though, through dreams and random moments throughout the day. But, as I said before, my time has been consumed by my thesis paper.


Chaotic happenings...

Why am I telling you all this? You might ask. I'm ranting about everything because my mind is a jumbled mess that's not allowing me to concentrate, and I need an outlet. My journal entries will be just that: me getting out the chaotic thoughts and happening in my daily life. As you'll see with these entries, my life is chaotic, it's like a novel (a Wattpad one), and it's unbelievably so.


For example, I love Halloween. Not as much as I love Thanksgiving or Christmas, but I love the dressing-up in costumes part. I helped plan a movie night where we would all put on outfits and watch "The Nightmare Before Christmas" at work. But I was the only one who did it, and I felt so foolish. It felt straight out of an "April fools" prank.


Okay, now that I'm writing it, it doesn't sound that chaotic, but my other Halloween story involves others that I don't want to expose. But I'll do say that I ended up going home early because of someone's petty jealousy.


What's next?

If you like what I'm writing and you'd like to read more, stay tuned to my site and socials to know when I post another blog.

You can also subscribe to my newsletter below, and you'll get the updates directly to your email. See you on the next one!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page